Spa-Francorchamps next in the eSports WTCC

As the World Touring Car Championship heads to Argentina, the eSports WTCC stays on the European continent for an event on one of the most prestigeous circuits in the world, Spa-Francorchamps. The seven kilometres long track has a unique flow and several impressive corners, most importantly the Eau Rouge. It has been visited by the WTCC twice, once in 2005, when Dirk Müller and Fabrizio Giovanardi were victorious, and once in 2014, when the Citroen drivers Yvan Muller and Jose Maria Lopez shared the winning honours.

For the first time this season, a Volvo won the pre-qualifying. Hungarian Gergo Baldi, the winner of the second race at the Hungaroring, topped the time sheets ahead of fellow Hungarian Volvo driver David Nagy. Tim Heinemann, who is third in the overall standings, was third on the leaderboard as well, in the fastest Honda ahead of championship leader Alexander Dornieden. Jan Stange meanwhile was a bit further down the order, in 13th position, one position behind the fastest newcomer, Kevin Leaune. The fastest Belgian was Jonathan Schelstraete in another Volvo. WTCC regular Yann Ehrlacher tried to challenge the simracers, but he found it tough to keep up with the virtual racing specialists and only managed to qualify in Division 2.

On Sunday, July 9th, at 17:00 GMT (14:00 Sao Paulo, 18:00 London, 19:00 Berlin), on either the Facebook page of the WTCC or the YouTube channel, Lewis McGlade and Robert Wiesenmüller will lead you through an evening full of WTCC action, live.

Menu Title