The eSports WTCC heads to Portugal

For the fourth round of the season, the online championship of the eSports WTCC heads over to the southeast of Europe, for the race of Portugal. In the real WTCC, the event is established since 2007. Four different racetracks have been used: The classic track of Estoril, the tight roads of Porto, nowadays the spectacular street circuit of Vila Real, but for our virtual championship, we will go the modern circuit of Portimao. And of course, when you mention WTCC and Portugal together in a sentence, there is one name that comes to mind: Tiago Monteiro, who is also the most successful driver at the WTCC Race of Portugal with 3 victories, sharing his crown with Alain Menu.

In the pre-qualifying on the hotlap leaderboard, French driver Thomas Petitjean dominated and set the fastest time by 2 tenths over Juan Manuel Gomez, Nikodem Wisniewski and Tanguy Pedrazzoli. The Hondas were the fastest car, but Klaus Schulze proved with his 5th position that the Citroens shouldn’t be underestimated. Championship leader Alexander Dornieden was 6th, while his closest competitor, Volvo driver Jan Stange, ended up in 10th position. The strongest newcomer was Dutchman Frank van Roon in 20th position.

If you are interested in following the action live, make sure to tune in Sunday, June 18th, at 17:00 GMT (14:00 Sao Paulo, 18:00 London, 19:00 Berlin) on either the Facebook page of the WTCC or the YouTube channel. James Kirk and Robert Wiesenmüller will lead you through the 2 hours of virtual racing action.

Menu Title